You need insurance to cover repair and medical costs after car accidents. Unfortunately, your insurance company might not work with your best interest in mind even though you pay for the service. The reality is they want to pay you as little as possible.
Arizona and New Mexico both have mandatory amounts of insurance you must carry. The Arizona Department of Transportation says the minimum amounts are $15,000 for property damage, $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for injuries to two or more people. The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division has the same requirements. See below to learn how to get the most out of your insurance company so you do not get stuck with medical bills or vehicle repairs you cannot afford.
Do not talk about your health
When you speak to the insurance company, the general rule of thumb is to keep the conversation brief. Never say that you feel fine before you see a doctor. Your insurance company might dispute your injuries from the car accident if you say you do not feel any pain. Injuries might become apparent days or weeks after the crash.
Do not admit guilt
Do not apologize or admit fault to anyone. You might think your insurance company is on your side, but admitting guilt might hurt your ability to receive the coverage you need for expenses.
Avoid opinion based statements
Keep your conversation to the basic facts, and do not speculate or guess anything. If you are unsure about something that happened, do not make a statement to your insurer about it.
After a car accident, many of the parties involved will try to avoid paying what is due. Your insurance company will only pay what they have to, so do not hurt your case of receiving a total payout by saying the wrong thing.